Can I be Marie Antoinette for a day?

or maybe for a year so that I can truly get the experience. 😛

A couple of weeks ago I went to The Getty Center for a class field trip and I think it has to be the most fun I’ve ever had a museum.  We got to see all sorts of French furniture and decorative arts from the Rococo and Neo Classical periods.  This place is a must go for all Interior Designers that are remotely interested in history.  I took an insane amount of pictures and I think only 1% will make it on to this post.

First I want to start off with this clock.  It has a monkey, and I love it.

Wall Clock

I want a fancy room like this one and pretend to live in the Parisian court.

Rococo Room

::rings bell:: More tea please, actually could you give me a glass of our house wine?

Forgot the name

I’ll be on my day bed.

DSC_0898

but please do not bother me of the curtains are closed

DSC_0902

This is a sofa and a bed! I wish there was someone standing next to it so that you could better understand its size.

DSC_0877

The amount of detail that went into making this piece is unreal

DSC_0785

 You can better see some of the marquetry in this close up.

 Marquetry

Why can’t we sit on the chairs!! D’: I wanted to explore all of the furniture, sit in the rooms, and pretend I was Marie Antoinette. </3

Louis XV Gilded Fauteuil

Here are some of my other favorite pictures:

La Regence Panel Detail French Porcelain

Look at the floor!!!

Desk and Parquetry

Some of my friends from school couldn’t help but pose with Louis XIV

  Louis XIV  DSC_0005

I’m pretty sure they weren’t allowed to walk there

DSC_0013 DSC_0014

Hope you enjoyed my pictures!

Friends!

Leave a comment